Canton: Uri CUR
Altitude: 458 mil 503 ft
Situation Altdorf, capital of the canton of Uri, a little town with a long and eventful history, lies 3/2 miles south of the outflow of the Reuss into Lake Uri in a wide plain at the mouth of the Schachen valley: it is the starting point of the road over the Klausen pass. It is here that William Tell is supposed to have shot at the apple on his son’s head. History The parish is believed to have been established in the 10th c., although its first appearance in the records is only in 1223.After the struggle to shake off Habsburg rule the place acquired political and economic importance as capital of the territory of Uri, which until 1439 was self governing in direct subordination to the Emperor.
Sights Toll In front of the Rathaus frown Hall, 1805-08) and a medieval tower house is Monument the Tell Monument (by Richard Kissling, 1895). To the east is the Tell theatre (19251, in which Schiller’s “Wilhelm Tell” is performed by Altdorf towns• people. Also of interest are the parish church of St Martin (rebuilt 1801-10), the Uri Historical Museum (founded 18321, the Suvorov house and the Capuchin friary.
The Historical Museum, 1Gotthardstrasse 18). founded in 1892, contains a cultural collection from the Canton of Uri.
3 km/2 miles away on the road to the Klausen pass is BUrglen (alt. 552 m/ 1811 ft: pop. 36001, one of the oldest settlements in Uri, built on detritus deposited by the Schachenbach, which here flows into the Reuss.
The Tell chapel 11582) is said to occupy the site of Tell’s house, and a stone cross beside the bridge marks the spot where Tell is traditionally believed to have been drowned while rescuing a child from the Schachenbach in his later years. There is a Tell Museum in a Romanesque tower adjoining the church. 1.5 km/1 mile south of Altdorf, on the loft bank of the Reuss, is Attinghausen Olt. 469 m11539 ft; pop. 1200), with the remains of a castle in which Freiherr von Attinghausen, who features in Schiller’s play. died in 1321
. From Altdorf a road runs via Seedorf !alt. 437 rn/1434 ft) at the southwest tip of Lake Uri. At the and of the village, directly on the lake, stands the pinnacled Schloss a Pro, which was built for the Knight Jacob 11556-60) of the same name. Nowadays the castle houses the Uri Mineral Museum (slide shows). From Isleten to the delightfully situated village of Isenthal (10k m/6 miles: alt. 778 m12553 ft; pop. 600).
the standing point for the ascent of the Uriro-stock 12932 m19620 ft; 6-7 hours, with guide: cableways,. 14 km19 miles south by way of Erstfold fall. 475 nt/1558 ft: station on the St Gotthard line} is Amsteg 1552 m/1811 ft) a beautifully situated village and Andermatt summer holiday resort at the mouth of the Maderanertal.
A steep mountain road, with many bends, climbs I4 km/2 miles) to Bristen(797 m/2615 ft). from which there is a cableway to the Golzernsee 11410 m/4626 ft) and a rough track which leads in 2’6 hours up to the magnificently situated Hotel Schweizer Alpenclub 11354 m:4442 ft), a good base for climbers and hill-walkers (e.g. to the Oberalpstock, (3330 m/10,926 ft); 8-9 hours, with guide).