Situation Andaman lies in the wide Urseren valley at the junction of four important Alpine roads, which with the exception of the access road from the Reuss valley are closed for between four and six months In the year. The old village has developed into an ideal base for walkers and climbers and a popular winter sports resort. History The Urseren valley was settled from the Valais, and the oldest parts of Andermatt and Hospental still show Valaisian features. The people of the valley were long subject to the authority of Disentis abbey, but achieved independence in 1382, with their own constitution and their own amman (chief magistrate) and the village is still a separate district within the canton of Uri.
The Baroque church of St Peter and Paul dates from 1695 (Rococo interior). On the mountainside is the little 13th c. church of St Columban (dedicated to the Irish monastery saint). From the Mariahilf chapel, above the village to the south. there are far ‘ranging views of the Blzberg (2550 m/8367 ft), the Furka pass, with the Mullen horn 13103 m/10,181 ftl, and the Badus (2931 nv9617 ft).
The five hour walk along the Urschner Hohenweg from Andermatt to Tiefenbach is recommended.
There is a cableway up to the Gernstock (2963 mS721 ft; length 4036 m113.240 ft; height difference 1525 m/5003 ft: time 12 minutes; magnificent views). Road 2 runs north up the wide Urseren valley (Bear Hunters’ Valley), a massive Alpine trough flanked by high mountains, some of them snow• capped, and by screen covered slopes, and watered by the streams which feed the Reuss. The road crosses the Devil’s Bridge (TeufelsbrUcke 1402 mi4600 ft), built in 1955.56, which spans the Reuss at a waterfall 30 m/98 ft high.
The road passes through the Teufo’swand (“Devil’s Wall”I in a short tunnel, and leaving a parking place ‘fine views) and five sharp bends (Schollenen restaurant) returns to the right bank of the river of the Spanngi bridge (1234 m/4049 111. It then enters the School tenon probably from Latin “scats’-ladder). a wild gorge enclosed between precipitous granite walls, and after another four sharp bends (line views) crosses to the :eft bank again on the Vordore Brucke. Thereafter it crosses the Geschenen-Reuss and continues to wind sharply downhill on the St Gotthard road to the village of Goschenen.
Gbschenen (alt. 1115 m/658 ft) S magnitioantly situated at the junction of the Goschenen-Reuss with the Reuss, which issues from the Sch011enen gorge. It lies near the north entrance to the 15miles long St Gotthard tunnel (see p. 355) and has a large railway station.
The builder of the tunnel, Louis Fevre, died of a stroke in the tunnel in 1879. shortly before its completion, and is buried in Goschenen churchyard. To the west an attractive road ascends the Beautiful Guschenen valley to a reservoir on the DOschener Alp (9.5 km/6 miles, 7 km 14 miles from Gesche-nen, on the right is the Geschener Aip inn. and 2.5 km/ 2 miles beyond this, in a magnificent mountain setting, the Demme• gletscher inn (1795 mr5889 ft) with a large parking place. Above the inn, from a reservoir (75 million cu. m:2648 million cu. ft). there is a superb view of the Dammastock and its glacier. The Geschenen Alp is the starting-point of a variety of rewarding climbs: to the Lochberg, the Dammastock (3633 m:11.920 ft: 5-6 hours, with guide), the Susterhorn 16’A hours, with guide).