Altitude: 1740-1890 m/5709-6201
The popular summer and winter resort of Arosa seems in a world of its own, lying as it does in a sheltered hollow M the high valley of the Schen-figg, surrounded by mountains, well away from the main traffic routes of the Grisons.
The road from Chur, almost 1200 m/3937 ft below, to Arose is 30miles long and has many bends; there is also a narrow-gauge railway, opened in 1914, which takes just under an hour to reach the resort. History The first settlement In the Arosa valley, then accessible only by trouble• some bridle•paths. was initiated about 1220 by the monasteries of Chur-walden and Sankt Luzi in Chur, and soon afterwards the population was
increased by some families brought in from the Valais by the Barons of Vaz. From 1320 to 1851 Arosa belonged to the parish and commune of Davos, but thereafter became an independent commune. In the 15th c. the village had a population of only 150.
The little village church was built in 1490. In 1575 most of the mountain pastures were sold to the town of Chur, which still owns some land in the commune. By 1850 the population had fallen to no more than 50. In 1875, however, the post road from Chur to Langwies was constructed, and in 1890 it was extended to Arosa; in 1880 the Seehof hotel was built to provide accommodation for visitors.
By the turn of the century Arosa had made a name for itself as a health resort, and in 1913 it ranked briefly as the leading resort in the Grisons. By 1930 the population had risen to 3724. The first ski school was opened in 1933. and the first three cableways were constructed in 1939.
Townscape With excellent facilities for walkers and climbers in summer and skiers in winter, provision for a great variety of sports and more than 150 km/93 miles of footpaths, Arosa has developed into a leading resort. Other.
turns of interest are the Late Gothic church (14931 in Inner rosa and the Schanfigg Local Museum (history of iron mining and winter sports). In summer a miniature railway operates at the Arosa Kutm Hotel.
Driving is prohibited in the town otter dark. Arose is an attractive town, with hotels dispersed about the beautiful sheltered valley and numerous small lakes. The tree-line passes through the resort. so that the skiing areas are almost completely open.
The road from Chur runs from the Obersee (Upper Lake, 1740 m/5709 ft; rowing boats), beside the railway station, above the Untersee (Lower Lake 1694 m/5558 ft, in a charming wooded setting, past the Kursaal (gaming casino) and up above the tree•line to the Alpine meadows of Inner•Arose, sloping gently uphill.
To the north is the mountain village of Moran, a favourite objective of s walkers, reached on the “Eichhornliweg” (Squirrel’s Path). Thera are easy mountain walks over the Strela pass to Davos and by way of the Aroser Weisshorn to the Parpaner Weisshorn.
Cableways Arose station to the Miftlere Hillier 12013 m16605 ft) and the ( Weisshorn (2653 m/8704 ft; 15 minutes. restaurant) and from the lower station “Am Wasser” 11830 m/6004111 to the Htunligrat (2493 m18180 ft; 15 minutes; mountain hut, serviced).